Hall of Fame – Tom Kropp

Kropp Nebraska’s first inductee in
National High School Hall of Fame

Published Tuesday
The Kearney Hub:

Kropp Nebraska’s first inductee in National High School Hall of Fame

Published Tuesday
The Kearney Hub

INDIANAPOLIS – University of Nebraska at Kearney basketball coach Tom Kropp will be inducted into the National Federation of State High School Associaitons National High School Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony will be July 7 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Kropp is the first Nebraska athlete intucted into the National High School Hall of Fame.

“This is a tremendous honor and we are extremely excited to have Tom Kropp become Nebraska’s first inductee into the National High School Hall of Fame,” said Dr. Jim Tenopir, Executive Director of the Nebraska School Activities Association. “Tom was a tremendous all-around athlete. He is one of those athletes that people remember and still talk about to this day. Tom’s accomplishments and athletic ability are evident and we are proud that he will go into the National High School Hall of Fame in July.”

Kropp, Nebraska’s prep athlete of the decate in the 1970s, was a four-sport standout at Aurora High School from 1967-71.

He was two-time all-state in football and played in the 1971 Shrine Bowl.

In basketball, he averaged 33 points and 23 rebounds as a senior and was named one of the top five basketball players in Nebraska history by the Omaha World-Herald.

He was the winning pitcher in Aurora’s state baseball championship and threw a no-hitter in the tournament’s semifinals.

In track, Kropp was undefeated in the shot put and discus his senior season.

He was named one of Nebraska’s 10 greatest athletes by the World-Herald, and the Prep Athlete of the Decade for the 1970s by the Lincoln Journal Star.

For the past 17 years, Kropp has been head men’s basketball coach at the University of Nebraska, Kearney, his alma mater.

Other athletes in this year’s class of inductees are Jackie Brummer, four-time state gymnastics all-around champion from Amherst, N.Y.; Natasha Kaiser-Brown, nine-time state champion (1982-85) in track and field from Des Moines, Iowa; Karen Smith, two-time California state basketball player of the year in the late 1970s from Sacramento, Calif.

The National High School Hall of Fame was started in 1982 by the NFHS to honor high school athletes, coaches, contest officials, administrators, fine arts coaches/directors and others for their extraordinary achievements and accomplishments in high school sports and activity programs. This year’s class increases the number in the Hall of Fame to 350, and this year’s event will be the 26th induction ceremony.

The inductees were chosen after a two-level selection process involving a screening committee composed of active high school state association administrators, coaches and officials, and a final selection committee composed of coaches, former athletes, state association officials, media representatives and educational leaders.

Nominations were made through NFHS member associations.
The NFHS, based in Indianapolis, is the national leadership organization for high school sports and fine arts activities.